The Taconite Capital of the World

City of Mountain Iron, Minnesota

Resolution 16-20



WHEREAS, at the Municipal Primary Election of the City of Mountain Iron, County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota, held in the City of Mountain Iron, Minnesota on August 11, 2020, and being the place where it was directed to be held by the City Council after giving due notice thereof as provided by law, and;

WHEREAS, eight qualified voters of said City to act as judges of said Municipal Election, each of whom has within the time limit subscribed by law, been designated and appointed by the City Council to act as judges of the election. And, each of whom being present at the designated hour and each of whom duly took and subscribed an oath to faithfully discharge the duties required of them at such election. The judges being duly qualified, forthwith opened the polls by proclamation at 7:00 a.m. and the election proceeded by ballot without adjournment or intermission until closed at 8:00 p.m., and;

WHEREAS, the subjects voted at such election, as stated in notice thereof, were to vote for one (1) Mayor, to a two year term, and two (2) Councilors, to four year terms; the two candidates with the highest votes and the four candidates with the highest votes to proceed to the General Election and;

WHEREAS, at 8:00 p.m., in the evening of said day, the polls were closed, proclamation thereof, having been made by one of the judges in each of the two precincts, and;

WHEREAS, upon the closing of the polls, the judges then proceeded to publicly tabulate the count and canvass the votes and a true statement thereof was duly proclaimed to the voters as follows:

            MAYOR                                             NUMBER OF VOTES RECEIVED

Peggy Anderson                                               273

Steve Skogman                                                 219

                        Paul Jacobsen                                                  179

            COUNCILOR                                     NUMBER OF VOTES RECEIVED

Joe Prebeg Jr.                                                    308

Al Stanaway                                                     296

Edmund “Ed” Roskoski                                   238

Dan Gunderson                                                 196

Mark Madden                                                   182

Resolution Number 16-20

Primary Election

Page 2

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MOUNTAIN IRON, SAINT LOUIS COUNTY, STATE OF MINNESOTA, does hereby accept the foregoing as a true statement of the results of tabulating and canvassing of votes by ballot, at said Municipal Primary Election held on Tuesday, August 11, 2020 and does hereby state the following individuals be placed on the ballot for the Municipal General Election on November 3, 2020 for election to the Office of City Councilor (4 year term) and Mayor (2 year term):


Peggy Anderson                                               

Steve Skogman                                                


Joe Prebeg Jr.                                                    

Al Stanaway                                                     

Edmund “Ed” Roskoski                                  

Dan Gunderson                                                 






                                                           Mayor Gary Skalko






City Administrator

Recent News

Campground Reservations

Contact Us